Got a lot going on? Write a poem

“Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.” Eleanor Roosevelt

 

Recently, I was in a situation where I couldn’t move on no matter how hard I tried. It was so tough. I hated how much time I was dwelling on what someone thinks of me. I hated how I would bring it up in conversation. There was much good that was happening as well, why couldn’t I focus on that?

Then I realized I was beating myself up for feeling hurt and for not being able to control how I felt.

So I thought to myself, why not write how I felt? So I did, here it is, my little poem, titled, “Devil Horns”

Devil Horns

Shhhhhhhh

L-i-s-t-e-n

Listen to me

I have a beating heart too,

but all you see are devil horns

I close my eyes

Pretend there aren’t blisters under my feet

Your path isn’t an easy one to follow

Just like mine,

but all you see are devil horns

So I stopped asking why

Shhhhhh

L-i-s-t-e-n to me

Listen

poem

Leave a Reply

